Yang Se Chan

Yang Se Chan is a South Korean comedian and singer born on December 8, 1986. He is known for his brand of slapstick comedy and is widely recognized for being one of the two new additions to the long-running variety show, Running Man.

Yang Se Chan
Yang Se Chan


Yang debuted in 2003 as part of the musical group Uwonye and Triple Axel. But it was only in 2008 that he released his first album as a singer with “Only One”. That same year, he received the Excellence Comedy Award at the SBS Entertainment Awards.

In 2016, he was part of the fourth season of the MBC reality show We Got Married where he was paired with Park Na Rae.

In 2017, he was a contestant in KBS’ travel variety show, Battle Trip, alongside Lee Yong Jin.

His biggest break in the industry, however, came in the form of Running Man when it was announced in April 2017 that Yang is one of the two new regular members on the show. He joins actress Jeon So Min, the other new member, and long-time hosts Yoo Jae Suk, Kim Jong Kook, Ji Suk Jin, Lee Kwang Soo, HaHa, and Song Ji Hyo.

2017 continued to be, by far, the busiest year for the comedian as other variety shows came flooding in after he joined Running Man. He became a cast member of Food Map Season 3 on MBCevery1, a subsidiary network of broadcasting giant MBC. He was also part of the pilot of MBC’s Thinking About My Bias. Most recently, he appeared on the first four episodes of Living Together in Empty Room alongside the Brave Brothers and Running Man co-host Jeon (So Min).

On Running Man

Yang joined the original cast members for his first Running Man filming on April 3, 2017. He, along with fellow newcomer So Min, are the youngest members of the show having both been born in 1986.

He first appeared on Running Man as a guest on episodes 321 and 323. He made such a good impression on the show and registered great chemistry with the cast that he was called in for an audition when the producers decided on adding new cast members. He was officially made a regular member on episode 346.

In an article on the website Soompi, Yang reportedly “showed his determination to take over the role of the rebellious youngest member.” The comedian also boldly told the producers that he will defeat everyone on the show.

Since he joined the show, Yang quickly emerged as one of the unlucky members who would often get the losing end of the stick during missions. He was immediately looped together veteran members Yoo Jae Suk, Ji Suk Jin, and Lee Kwang Soo, who are all known to be part of the “Unlucky Avengers”.

He got his nickname “Number 8” because he is often teased by members as ranked 8 among everybody in terms of appearance, meaning he’s the least attractive in the cast.

He also took Lee Kwang Soo’s role as Kim Jong Kook’s lackey and immediately became the Tiger’s favorite person on the show.

Yang Se Chan’s cute dog

His official color is grey and his official animal is still yet to be announced.

Alliances and Relationships on Running Man

Yang with Kim Jong Kook, HaHa, and Lee Kwang Soo – Kim Jong Kook and His Three Lackeys

Cast member Jae Suk is credited for creating the group when the four members were put in the same team during one of their missions. In that episode, Yang, HaHa, and Kwang Soo were made to serve Kim as their master so he wouldn’t choose them to go to a dangerous attraction in their location. The four of them also often display some sort of connection on the show that none of the other members understand.

Yang with Yoo Jae Suk, Ji Suk Jin, Lee Kwang Soo, and Jeon So Min – Unlucky Ones, The Ugly Tribe, Unlucky Avengers

The group was initially formed with Jae Suk, Suk Jin, and Kwang Soo as the original members since they are known to be the unluckiest members of Running Man. When Yang joined the program, he also turned out to be unlucky during their missions to the point that other members included him in the “Unlucky Ones” group, formerly known as the “Unlucky Trio”. They are also sometimes referred to as “The Ugly Tribe”. Jeon became part of the “Unlucky Avengers” when she joined the four men for a mission on their “Super Scary Labyrinth of Fear” episode.

Yang with Yoo Jae Suk, HaHa, Ji Suk Jin, Lee Kwang Soo, and Jeon So Min – Moths

The group’s name was coined from Yang’s statement when he called Jae Suk, Kwang Soo, and So Min as “moths drawn to flames”. It was from an episode when the members were tasked to choose an exit in order to earn money that they can use for their mission. Yang correctly predicted that the three members will most likely choose the exit corresponding to the highest amount of money. HaHa and Suk Jin also chose the same exit, putting them in the group as well. Although Kwang Soo chose a different exit, he was also considered a part of the group because of his tendency to betray other members.

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Top Reviews